Twist, Lick, Dunk

A new twist to your normal cheesecakes. I love oreos and my dad’s oreo cheesecake birthday cake inspired me to learn how to make oreo cheesecake! it was way simpler than i thought it would be – especially because it’s a no-bake cake 😀 the most difficult part was probably making whipped cream – because I have no clue where to get cool whip in Singapore (anyone knows? please share)

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Photo 22-9-14 1 09 13 amIt was so yummy i swear! tasted like those that I bought from emicakes! It was rich and the oreos really complimented the cheese. I TOTALLY 101% LOVED IT!

so again, I’m gonna share this simple recipe with you guys (:

Ingredients: – makes about 5-6 small cups)
1. 14 oreos (blended into fine crumbs)
2. 40g butter
3. 450g cream cheese
4. 70g sugar
5. 2/3 tsp vanilla
6. 150g whipped cream* (sorry I converted this to grams) – this was actually cool whip in the original recipe but I have no clue where I can get that in Singapore 😦
7. more oreos for topping & adding to mixture (optional)

*I’ll include the recipe to make the whipped cream at the end, but if you have cool whip, then use it!

Instructions:
1. Combine oreo +butter
2. Press into bottom of cups – set in refrigerator
3. Mix cheese, sugar, vanilla until smooth and well combined
4. stir in whipped cream
5. add oreo and mix until combined (I split my mixture from above into 2 so that I could have some plain mixture and some with oreos to add colour to my cheesecake)
6. Add mixture to the cups and top with crushed oreos
7. Refrigerate for 4hours

*Homemade whipped cream* – this was probably the most tricky part because as usual over mixing is bad.
Ingredients:
1. 160g whipping cream
2. 1 1/3 (4/3) tbsp icing sugar (sifted)
3. 2/3 tsp vanilla extract

Instructions:
1. Freeze metal bowl and whisk for 15-20mins
2. Remove bowl, add whipping cream and icing sugar
3. As cream STARTS to thicken, add the vanilla extract
4. Whip until soft peaks form (DO NOT OVER MIX! it will end up with a weird texture so get rid of the mentality that more is always better!)
-The cream goes from thick to soft peaks really fast, and to know when to stop, lift your whisk and your cream should form small peaks that stay in place)-

-i do not own these recipes, these were simply tweaked, but I can’t seem to find the link for the original recipe. Sorry 😦 –

AND WALA!!!! SOME YUMMY CHEESECAKES TO SATISFY OUR FAT TUMMIES (:
see who says desserts have to be complicated?

sign

Leave a comment